Loading Events

« All Events

david fung and verona quartet

Verona Quartet
David Fung, piano

Friday July 16, 2021 @ 8:00 pm

$30, $49, $58, $69

Buy Tickets Add To Calendar


Friday July 16, 2021 @ 8:00 pm

Recent winners of the Cleveland Quartet Award, the Verona Quartet returns to Caramoor for the first time since their Ernst Stiefel residency in 2017-18. This now-established string quartet’s energy and vibrancy have earned them a reputation as an “outstanding ensemble … cohesive yet full of temperament.” (The New York Times). Their program includes works by Puccini, Beethoven, and a quintet by 20th-century Polish composer Grażyna Bacewicz with pianist David Fung.


Verona Quartet
David Fung, piano


Puccini: Crisantemi
Bacewicz: Quintet for Piano and Strings No. 1
Beethoven: String Quartet No. 14 in C Sharp Minor, Op. 131

Learn About the Artists

The Verona Quartet 

Acclaimed for its “bold interpretive strength, robust characterization and commanding resonance” (Calgary Herald), the Verona Quartet has spellbound audiences worldwide, unlocking the secrets of the music through the “intimate way they communicate with each other and the audience.” (Boston Arts Fuse)

Delicate craftsmanship, luminous sound, and a dramatic poise are all hallmarks of the virtuosity that fuses together violinists Jonathan Ong, Dorothy Ro, violist Abigail Rojansky, and cellist Jonathan Dormand to create the Verona Quartet. The group’s singular sense of purpose earned them Chamber Music America’s coveted Cleveland Quartet Award 2020, and a reputation as an “outstanding ensemble…cohesive yet full of temperament.” (The New York Times

Deeply committed educators, the Verona Quartet serves as Quartet-in-Residence at the Oberlin College and Conservatory in Oberlin, Ohio.

A string quartet for the 21st century, the Verona Quartet champions the storied history of the string quartet alongside music that reflects the current world in which we live, including those commissioned and written for them by composers Julia Adolphe, Sebastian Currier, Corey Dundee, Texu Kim and Michael Gilbertson. The Verona Quartet has cultivated a dynamic approach to collaboration and programming that includes cross-cultural and interdisciplinary enterprises. Recent projects feature performances with dancers from Brooklyn’s Dance Heginbotham, artistic exchanges with traditional Emirati poets in the UAE, and collaborations with Grammy-winning folk supergroup I’m With Her.

The Verona Quartet has appeared across four continents enchanting audiences at venues such as Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Kennedy Center, Wigmore Hall, and Melbourne Recital Hall, in addition to appearing at festivals including Caramoor, La Jolla Summerfest, Chamber Music Northwest, Bravo! Vail, and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. As Ensemble-in- Residence with the Chamber Orchestra of the Triangle in North Carolina, the Verona Quartet curates the UpClose Chamber Music Series, bringing the visceral energy of classical music to diverse audiences in venues ranging from concert halls to craft breweries.

The Verona Quartet was Caramoor’s 2017-18 Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence. In addition to their current Oberlin residency, the Verona Quartet holds residency positions at the Lunenburg Academy of Music Performance (Lunenburg, NS) as well as Indiana University Summer String Academy (Bloomington, IN). Each year, reaching thousands of people, the Verona Quartet’s community and educational workshops inspire new listeners and performers through the joys of chamber music.

The Verona Quartet rose to international prominence after rapidly sweeping top prizes at the Wigmore Hall, Melbourne, Osaka, M-Prize International Chamber Music Competitions, and the Concert Artists Guild Competition.

The ensemble’s “thoughtful, impressive” performances (Cleveland Classical) emanate from the spirit of storytelling; the Quartet believes that the essence of storytelling transcends genre and therefore the name “Verona” pays tribute to William Shakespeare, one of the greatest storytellers of all time.”

David Fung, piano

Praised for his “ravishing and simply gorgeous” performances in The  Washington Post, pianist David Fung is widely recognized for interpretations that are elegant and refined, yet intensely poetic and uncommonly expressive. Declared a Rising Star in BBC Music Magazine, Fung regularly appears with the world’s premier ensembles including the Cleveland Orchestra, Detroit Symphony, Israel Philharmonic , Los Angeles Philharmonic, National Orchestra of Belgium, San Diego Symphony, and San Francisco Symphony, as well as the major orchestras in his native country of Australia, including the Melbourne Symphony, Queensland Symphony, and Sydney Symphony. 

In 2019-20, Fung was a featured soloist with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in its opening subscription weekend celebrating the Orchestra Hall Centennial and received an invitation to replace Andre Watts with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra performing Ravel’s Left-Hand Concerto. Other highlights of the season included performances at the Seattle Town Hall, Eastman Presents, Ottawa Chamberfest, L’Auditori (Barcelona), and a collaboration with the Brentano Quartet at Yale University and Carnegie Hall. In 2020-21, Fung headlines the 2020 WQXR Pride Celebrations in New York City.  

Fung’s highly acclaimed debut with the Cleveland Orchestra at the Blossom Music Festival was “everything you could wish for” (Cleveland Classical), and he was further praised as an “agile and alert interpreter of Mozart’s crystalline note-spinning” (The Plain Dealer). In the following week, he performed Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini at the Beijing National Stadium for the Olympic Summer Festival. Festival highlights include performances at the Aspen Music Festival, Blossom Music Festival, Brussels Piano Festival, Edinburgh International Festival, Hong Kong Arts Festival, the Ravinia Festival, Tippet Rise, and Yeosu International Music Festival. 

In recent seasons, he has been presented in recital by Washington Performing Arts at the Kennedy Center, Lincoln Center’s Great Performers, the Louvre Museum, the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, the National Concert Hall in Taiwan, and the Zürich Tonhalle. 

Fung garnered international attention as laureate of the Queen Elisabeth International Music Competition in Brussels and the Arthur Rubinstein Piano International Masters Competition in Tel Aviv.  In Tel Aviv, he was further distinguished by the Chamber Music and Mozart Prizes, awarded in areas in which Fung has a passionate interest. Fung is the first piano graduate of the Colburn Conservatory in Los Angeles and is a Steinway Artist.

All artists and dates are subject to change and cancellation without notice as we work closely with local health experts and officials. Please note that all performances at Caramoor are in compliance with current New York State Regulations. Read our latest Health & Safety updates.