Loading Events

« All Events

conrad tao

Conrad Tao, piano

Thursday July 15, 2021 @ 7:00 pm

$32, $46, $54, $63

Buy Tickets Add To Calendar


Thursday July 15, 2021 @ 7:00 pm

Pianist and composer Conrad Tao has been dubbed a musician of “probing intellect and open-hearted vision” by The New York Times, who also cited him “one of five classical music faces to watch” in the 2018-19 season. Tao is a recipient of the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, and was named a Gilmore Young Artist — an honor awarded every two years highlighting the most promising American pianists of the new generation. He makes his Caramoor solo recital debut with works by Bach, Jason Eckhardt, and Schumann.


Conrad Tao, piano


Conrad Tao: Improvisation
J.S. Bach: Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903
Jason Eckardt: Echoes’ White Veil
Schumann: Kreisleriana, Op. 16

Learn About the Artist

Conrad Tao, piano

Conrad Tao has appeared worldwide as a pianist and composer, and has been dubbed a musician of “probing intellect and open-hearted vision” by The New York Times . In addition to his work as a solo musician, Tao maintains active collaborations with the Junction Trio, his ensemble with violinist Stefan Jackiw and cellist Jay Campbell, dancer and choreographer Caleb Teicher, and vocalist and improviser Charmaine Lee.

At the 2019 New York Dance and Performance Award (“Bessies”), Tao was the recipient of the award for Outstanding Sound Design / Music Composition, for his work on More Forever, his evening-length piece written for and with Teicher’s company.

Tao’s 2020 began with the world premiere of his piece Spoonfuls by the Iris Orchestra, and his debut solo piano recital at Disney Hall, performing works by Rzewski and Copland as part of the LA Phil’s Power to the People! Festival just before the COVID-19 Pandemic caused an industry-wide shutdown. With traditional performances on hold, Tao nevertheless maintained a busy schedule of streamed performances: two shows for the Library of Congress with Teicher and the JACK Quartet, a virtual recital for Tanglewood, several shows with the Junction Trio, and duo performances with Jackiw. Tao was also announced as a 2020-2021 Kaufman Music Center Artist-in-Residence, presenting a series of seven free monthly digital Performance As Process events, and hosted additional educational workshops and talks with composition and piano students at Peabody Conservatory, Juilliard, Music Academy of the West, Emory University, and Columbus State University.

Tao is a recipient of the Avery Fisher Career Grant, and was named a Gilmore Young Artist in 2012. Tao was born in Urbana, Illinois, in 1994. He has studied piano with Emilio del Rosario in Chicago and Yoheved Kaplinsky in New York, and composition with Christopher Theofanidis.

All artists and dates are subject to change and cancellation without notice as we work closely with local health experts and officials. Please note that all performances at Caramoor are in compliance with current New York State Regulations. Read our latest Health & Safety updates.